[vc_row css=”.vc_custom_1445325132822{padding-right: 10% !important;padding-left: 10% !important;}”][vc_column][vc_column_text]

Ayurveda is the combination of two words, `Ayu` and `Veda`

  • Ayu – Means the Life
  • Veda – Means Science or Knowledge

Together ‘science of life’. Ayurveda can be defined as a system, which uses the inherent principles of nature, to help maintain health in a person by keeping the individual’s body, mind and spirit in perfect equilibrium with nature. To maintain health, Ayurveda has its own aims and objectives.

Aims of Ayurveda:

Swasthasya Swaastha Rakshanam (Maintaining once own health) Aaturasya Vikara Prashamanam (If disease, to get rid from it) Ayurveda’s aim is to help the healthy person to maintain good health and the diseased person to regain good health. The practice of Ayurveda is designed to promote human happiness at physical, mental and spiritual level.

Objectives of Ayurveda:

Samadosha Samagnishcha Sama Dhata Mala Kriya, prassanna atma indriya manah swastha iti abhideyate
In Ayurveda one is in good health when our inner and internal environment is in balance:

  • The Vata, Pitta and Kapha dosha (vital humors) are in balance.
  • Agni (the digestive fire) is balanced.
  • Dhatus (the 7 body tissues) are functioning normally.
  • Mala (the waste products) are produced and eliminated normally.
  • The Mana, Indriya and Atma (mind, senses and consciousness) are working in blissful harmony.

Ayurveda is based on 5 basic elements.

  • Aakasha : Ether
  • Vayu : Air
  • Agni : Fire
  • Ap : Water
  • Prutvi : Earth

By the combination of these elements Dosha, Dhatu, etc., are formed.
Basically, Ayurveda is based on 3 pillars, Dosha, Dhatu and Mala. We will know about these pillars one by one.[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]Dosha: A dosha, according to Ayurveda is one of three bodily humors that make up one’s constitution.
Three dosha – Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

The three Dosha, in Ayurveda and the five great elements that they are composed of.
Vata: Air+Ether
Pitta: Fire+Water
Kapha: Water+Earth





Places of dosha:

Vata: Main place is Large intestine. Other places like, thighs, bones, joints, ears, skin, brain, and nerve tissues.

Pitta: Main place is Small intestine. Other places like, stomach, liver, spleen, pancreas, blood, eyes and sweat.

Kapha: Main place is Chest. Other places like, throat, lungs, head, lymph, fatty tissue, connective tissue, ligaments and tendons.

Qualities of Tridosha:

Vata: Vata governs all movement in the body and mind. It controls blood flow, elimination of wastes, breathing, etc., Pitta and Kapha can`t move without vata. Vata is considered as the main of the three dosha. It`s important to keep vata in good condition.

Pitta: Pitta governs all heat, metabolism and transformation in the body and mind. It controls our digestion, metabolism, sensory perception, discriminates between right and wrong. Pitta governs the agni (digestive fire) of the body.

Kapha: Kapha governs all structure and lubrication in the body and mind. It controls weight, growth, lubrication for the joints and formation all 7 tissues (Dhatu) in the body.

Article by,

Dr. Asha Pathange BAMS., MS(Ayu)
Consultant at Arogyasiri, Mysore.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column][vc_widget_sidebar sidebar_id=”sidebar-sidearea”][ultimate_heading heading_type=”customizable” heading_content=”LEAVE A REPLY” default_sub_heading=”Required fields are marked *” alignment=”left”][/ultimate_heading][ultimate_spacer height=”20″ height_on_tabs=”10″ height_on_mob=”6″]

Your Name *

Your Email *


Your Message *